India - Karnataka League femminile


The Karnataka Women's League, also referred to as the Karnataka Women's Super Division League, is the top division of women's football league in the Indian State of Karnataka. The League is organised by the Karnataka State Football Association (KSFA), the official football governing body of the State.


The Karnataka Women's League was formed in 2018 to give effect to the mandate sent out by the All India Football Federation, India's governing body of professional football, to each State to form leagues. It said that the winner of the league would be promoted to compete in the Indian Women's League. Subsequently, M. Satyanarayan, a journalist and then member of the Governing Board and Core Committee of the Karnataka State Football Association (KSFA) organized the Impetus Tournament in the Bangalore Football Stadium to "gauge the state of women's football in Karnataka". Against an estimated four teams, eighteen turned up and this led to the formation of the League, in January 2019. Five teams competed its first season.